TransAtlantic Heritage Brass

The 'Concertgebouw Brass Quartet' was formed by brass players from the world renowned Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam in the 1920's.

The original members were Dirk Speets, Derk Tonnis, Richard Sell and Emanuel Haagman. 

After the Second World War, the Concertgebouw Brass Quartet consisted of Marinus Komst (trumpet), Wim Groot (trumpet), Jan Bos (horn) and Hans Maassen (trombone). The quartet gave many performances, in the Netherlands and abroad. Dutch composers like Henk Badings and Jan Koetsier made  compositions for this quartet. In this period, the brass players of the Concertgebouw Orchestra maintained a cultivated way of playing, concentrating on beauty of sound and blending the sound with other instruments. This style of playing is often described as a velvet sound. 




                                                                                    Concertgebouw Koperkwartet (Interlaken 1946/1947)

                                                                                                   Wim Groot, Marinus Komst, Jan Bos, Hans Maassen.

Honouring the tradition of the Concertgebouw Brass Quartet, members of TransAtlantic Brass give lectures, masterclasses  and perform brass quartet music.

TransAtlantic Heritage Brass offers lectures about the history, traditions, performance and instruments of brass playing in the Netherlands.

The lectures will be presented by dr. Ralph Henssen and dr. Jack Munnecom, who both did intensive research about the history of brass playing.

Next to lectures, the TransAtlantic Heritage Brass offers masterclasses for college- and university level students,  to develop a better understanding of Dutch brass ensemble traditions.

During performances of the TransAtlantic Heritage Brass, historical instruments are used, originally owned by former members of the Concertgebouw Orchestra. Among these instruments are trumpets of Marinus Komst (principal trumpet 1934-1972), Henk Minderman (trumpet 1954-1980) and french horns of Jan Bos (principal horn 1937-1974) and Richard Sell (principal horn 1922-1945). 

TransAtlantic Brass has recieved funding through grants from:


  • Facebook White Icon
  • YouTube White Icon
  • Spotify White Icon
  • Apple Music White Icon